FAFO License v0.2

in the spirit of license hacking i have pushed out version 0.2 of my FAFOL thought experiment, based on the Blue Oak Model License instead of the MIT license.

2 Likes

Two thoughts:

1. Why strike the Notices section?

2. Might like a gander at https://writing.kemitchell.com/2020/06/09/Normally-Open-Closed.html

2 Likes

Is there an example of what would complement the ethics clause?

1 Like

Why strike the Notices section?

I’ve never been quite certain what the point of that clause in most permissive licenses is. As far as I can tell, the only effect is “most commercial software based on MIT-licensed libraries has a list of dependencies buried deep under the About menu,” and as a library developer I don’t really care if my dependents do that or not.

The Normally Open/Closed licenses are definitely also interesting, and for more well-defined purposes I’d definitely keep them in mind, but one thing I also like about the JSON License’s ethics clause is that it cuts both ways. “Only Good uses are permitted” and “No Evil uses are permitted” both have a different tone than “This software shall be used for Good, not Evil.”

Is there an example of what would complement the ethics clause?

The ethics clause is left purposefully vague. Other licenses have taken the path of specifically defining what does and does not count as ethical behavior, and have run into issues as a result of their specificity; since this license exists mostly as a means by which to explore the space of post-open source software licenses and only accidentally as a real license itself, I felt that the opposite approach was worth looking into.

1 Like

You are not alone.

Intuitively, the clause requires the license terms to “stick to” the software. It prohibits people from peeling that sticker off. Hopefully that means everyone who gets the software also gets the license terms.